Stellenbosch Municipality

Stellenbosch Municipal Planning By-law

Stellenbosch Municipal Planning By-law comes into operation on 1 December 2015. This by-law will replace the Land Use Planning Ordinance, No 15 of 1985 (LUPO) and laws such as the Removal of Restrictions Act No 84 of 1967 (ROR).

The by-law will give effect to the municipal planning function allocated to municipalities in terms of Part B of Schedule 4 of the Constitution. It also gives effect to certain requirements set in the Spatial Planning and Land Use Management Act (SPLUMA) and the Western Cape Land Use Planning Act (LUPA), both of which come into operation on 1 December 2015.

LUPO has been repealed and replaced by the Stellenbosch Municipal Planning Bylaw from 1 December 2015.

Important Notice: Applications submitted prior to 1 December 2015 will still be processed in terms of the Land Use Planning Ordinance (Ordinance 15 of 1985) under which they were submitted.

All land use planning applications are made thus in terms of the By-law from 1 December 2015.

Links to the above-mentioned new legislation are provided below:

New Municipal Templates which includes:

All relevant zoning schemes which include:

Submission Protocol, Public Participation and advertising requirements

Planning Policies

Land Use Complaint Form

Municipal Planning Tribunal

Contact Details for the Directorate Planning & Economic Development