Community, Town News|

9 March 2023

Statement by Speaker Quintin Smit

Stellenbosch Municipality

It gives me great pleasure to confirm that Mr Mynard Slabbert of the Democratic Alliance (DA) has been duly elected as the new Councillor for Ward 21 in Stellenbosch. This area includes Jamestown and Paradyskloof.

A vacancy arose in the ward following the resignation of Councillor Rikus Badenhorst, who took up a position in National Parliament in the National Council of Provinces (NCOP).

The by-election took place in Ward 21 on 8 March 2023, after the MEC for Local Government proclaimed a by-election for the Ward.

The results, as verified and proclaimed by the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) are as follows:

• DA – 72.57% – 1 386 VOTES

• ACDP – 16.28% – 311 VOTES

• INDEP – 5.92% – 113 VOTES

• GOOD – 4.08% – 78 VOTES

• ANC – 0.68% – 13 VOTES

• EFF – 0.47% – 9 VOTES

I wish to welcome Councillor-elect Slabbert, a long-time resident of Jamestown, to the Stellenbosch Municipality family. As Speaker, I will be swearing in Mr Slabbert as Councillor in the coming days but his responsibilities as Ward Councillor commences immediately. I wish him well on this new journey and look forward to working with him.


Comments are closed.

Close Search Window